Scholarship application deadline extended to June 30 | ACTC

Scholarship application deadline extended to June 30

April 30, 2020

Ashland Community and Technical College has extended its scholarship application deadline for fall 2020 to June 30. ACTC offers dozens of scholarships to help deserving area residents pay for their education. Last year, 143 scholarships totaling more than $272,000 were awarded.
At ACTC, about 70 percent of students receive some sort of financial aid, and scholarships are part of the financial aid package.

Applicants need to apply for admission to ACTC, complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and fill out a scholarship application form. The general scholarship application form is good for most ACTC scholarships, and there are also applications for special scholarships for students in specific fields.
Scholarship applications are on the web at under Costs and Financial Aid and the FAFSA is at For more information on scholarships or financial aid, call 606-326-2198.

Special Scholarships
Many area organizations and individuals have established scholarships for students who dem¬onstrate the potential for academic success and financial need. Some scholarships have additional requirements such as county of residence, choice of major field or grade point average. Several of these are listed below.

• The Willie G. McCullough Scholarship is for students residing in Boyd County and who are involved in community service and demonstrate leadership and who have a 2.5 GPA or higher.

• The Susan Wilson Memorial Scholarship Fund established by Louisa resident Neil Wilson is for Lawrence County High School graduates who have a 2.5 or higher GPA.

• The Rodney Clark Memorial Scholarship, established by Clark’s Pump-N-Shop, is for Kentucky, Ohio or West Virginia high school graduates who are enrolled in an ACTC technical program.

• The Lottie B. Culinary Arts Scholarship established by former Ashland resident Rick Kouns is for third semester culinary arts students who have a minimum 2.5 GPA and the potential for success in the profession.

• The Kevin McClain Memorial Scholarship, established by Marathon Petroleum, is for minority and female students who enroll for at least 12 hours a semester in the Applied Process Technology Program.

• The Spriggs Family Scholarship is for children of Boyd County firefighters and police officers who have been employed by their department for at least two years.

• The Theodore C. & Bennie J. Shields Scholarship is for Boyd County High School graduates who maintain a minimum 3.0 GPA. At least half of the scholarships must be awarded to female students.

• The J.T. Smith Scholarship is for outstanding African-American residents of Kentucky, and grade point average, class rank, ACT scores and extra-curricular activities are considered.

• ACTC’s Pre-Engineering Scholarship is for students who intend to earn an Associate in Science Degree and transfer to a university for a bachelor’s degree in chemical, civil, mechanical or other engineering fields.

To apply for any ACTC scholarship, click here.

For information on establishing ACTC scholarships, contact Brooke Seasor, ACTC’s director of resource development, at