Board of Directors Meeting | ACTC


Board of Directors Meeting

Technology Drive Campus - December 7, 2016 - Minutes


Toni Armstrong, John Clark, Leigh Latherow, Ann Perkins, Ramona Salyer, Chrisha Spears, John Stewart, Jr.


Nicole Griffith-Green, Keri Jones,


Kay Adkins, Karen Blevins, Steve Flouhouse, Janie Kitchen, Willie McCullough, John McGlone, Pam Miller, Kathy Riley, Brooke Seasor, Steve Woodburn


Board Chair, John Stewart, called the meeting to order at noon in the Rocky Adkins Pavilion on the Technology Drive Campus of Ashland Community and Technical College.


Members reviewed the minutes of the September 21, 2016 meeting. Leigh Latherow made the motion to accept the minutes as written. Ann Perkins seconded the motion. All voted to approve the minutes.


Dr. Kay Adkins gave a PowerPoint presentation, updating board members of recent events and plans (copy attached). She noted that ACTC personnel are feeling positive about enrollment. Ashland and Maysville were the only colleges in our system that grew in fall enrollment. For spring, she reported that ACTC is currently at 72% enrollment compared to this time last year. She stated that we predict flat or slightly lower enrollment for the spring semester.

In updates regarding dual credit she informed board members of recent changes the Governor and the Council on Postsecondary Education have implemented. The tuition rate has dropped to $52 per credit hour, which is one-third the price of regular tuition. In addition, we no longer decide what courses are and are not marked dual credit. Any course a high school student takes is marked dual credit. She noted the changes affects our finances and could ultimately allow high school graduates to skip community college and enroll directly into four-year colleges.

Regarding the former AK Steel employees who are now ACTC students, Dr. Adkins noted that this group could potentially help us with performance based funding coming in the future.


Karen Blevins, Dean of Business Affairs, presented a handout and discussed the six-year plan mandated by KRS (copy attached). She reminded board members of the process-ACTC submits our plan to KCTCS and they submit a system plan to the Governor. After explaining the plan, she informed the Board that our President’s Leadership Team and the College Council have both accepted the current plan.

Motion was made by Toni Armstrong to accept the plan as presented. The motion was seconded by Ramona Salyer and was approved by vote.


Steve Flouhouse, Dean of Institutional Planning, Research and Effectiveness, briefly updated board members on the reaccreditation process and noted that our Compliance Certification is due March 1, 2017. He does not expect any problems.


In Nicole Griffith-Green’s absence, Steve Flouhouse discussed a handout (copy attached). He told those in attendance that the QEP is due in September, is a five-year plan, is a component of the SACS reaccreditation process and will be the focus of the October 2017 on-site visit.


Willie McCullough, Dean of Resource Development and External Affairs, announced $100,000 raised this semester for scholarships.

She introduced Brooke Seasor, our new Director of Advancement. Brooke will initially focus on Alumni, ACTC’s 80th anniversary and increasing scholarships.

Janie Kitchen, Dean of Academic Affairs, told the board that ACTC has received a two million dollar Title III grant, focusing on on-line education. It will include professional development for faculty to increase the quality of on-line education and student engagement. It will allow a faculty emporium on the Technology Drive Campus and active learning rooms and labs will on the Technology Drive Campus and the College Drive Campus.

Dean Kitchen also announced a NASA mini-grant has been approved. ACTC will work with teachers in the public schools through this grant.

Steve Flouhouse, Dean of Institutional Planning, Research and Effectiveness, had nothing to report.

John McGlone, Dean of Public Services, reported that KCTCS has a new Crisis Management Plan. ACTC is expanding our crisis management team members.

Steve Woodburn, Dean of Student Success and Enrollment Services, reported for Keri Jones, SGA President, that SGA will be working with students to aid them with book money.

He announced the Friday, December 10, “Mall Take Over”, encouraging all to stop by one of ACTC’s many tables to be set up at the Ashland Town Center from 3:00-8:00 p.m.

Dean Woodburn, announced pride in his staff and other ACTC personnel for their hard work successfully reaching the fall enrollment goals. He noted the fall semester being the smoothest one since his arrival at ACTC.

Karen Blevins, Dean of Business Affairs, had nothing to report.


Chair John Stewart reported that board members’ applications for reappointment have been sent to the Governor.

He reminded those present to attend the December 9 FORWARD meeting with Dr. Box at the College Drive Compus at noon.

John presented John Clark with a Resolution of Appreciation for his service to Ashland Community and Technical College’s Board of Directors.

In closing, Chair Stewart, commended ACTC employees for a great job this year and their ability to adapt to changes, regulations and money constraints. He offered a hearty Congrats for ACTC’s success!


Board Chair, John Stewart, adjourned the meeting at 1:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Pam Miller, Recorder