Seniors recognized by NAACP, ACTC | ACTC

Seniors recognized by NAACP, ACTC

April 16, 2019

     The Boyd and Greenup Counties Branch of the NAACP and Ashland Community and Technical College recognized 19 students at the 26th annual African American Senior Salute on April 11.
Seniors from Ashland Paul G. Blazer, Boyd County, Fairview, Greenup County, Lawrence County and Russell high schools were honored for their academic achievement as well as given resources about continuing their education.
     ACTC, Marshall University, Morehead State University, Mountwest Community and Technical College, Shawnee State University and Ohio University Southern participated in a college fair where students could apply for admission or get general information about the schools. Branches of the military also participated.
     Keynote speaker was Uriah Tolbert, principal of Crabbe Elementary School. Lunch was provided by Mary’s Kitchen.
     Students who were honored were:
     Boyd County: Cadell Hein, Desirae Middleton and Austin Reeves.
     Fairview: Johnathan Elswick and Noah King.
     Greenup County: Nicolaus “Seth” Ailster.
     Paul G. Blazer: Amaya Brewer, Christine Clarke, Blessing Eleazu, Janay Farrow Beatty, Orion Hall, Joel Mark, Jonathan Newman, Madison Potter, James Robinson and Kimberly Williams.
     Russell: Alexander (Trey) Rankin, Zaccheaus (Z) Snyder and Jocelyn Martin.