Three from ACTC Win New Horizons Awards | ACTC

Three from ACTC Win New Horizons Awards

Three ACTC employees have received Kentucky Community and Technical College (KCTCS) awards. The New Horizons Excellence Awards for 2010-2011, presented on May 18 in Louisville, recognize leadership and outstanding achievements by faculty and staff from each of the 16 KCTCS colleges.

Each college selected an outstanding administrative staff member, support staff member and faculty member for the awards. Recipients are also nominated for Excellence Awards from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development.

Dr. Aschalew Mengistu, Associate Professor of Microbiology, received the Faculty Award. An Ashland resident, he serves on the KCTCS Biology Curriculum Committee. He is a member of the Kentucky Academy of Science, American Society for Microbiology and Johns Hopkins Medical and Surgical Association.

Dr. Larry A. Ferguson, Dean of Community Workforce and Economic Development, received the Administrative Staff Award. A Catlettsburg resident, he serves on the college Innovation Team, Presidents Leadership Team and several committees. He is a Board Member of the United Way of Northeast KY.

Ella Kitchen Smith, Title III Administrative Assistant, received the Staff Support Award. A Greenup County resident, she serves on the college Valued Employees Committee. She helps with the District SkillsUSA Competitions, Graduate Kentucky and a variety of college and community projects.