Six ACTC Faculty Receive 2013 Promotions | ACTC

Six ACTC Faculty Receive 2013 Promotions

Six ACTC faulty members have been promoted effective July 1, 2013.

Keith Brammell, DMD, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, was promoted to Professor. A Grayson resident and area native, he graduated from East Carter High School. After graduating from Ashland Community College with an Associate Degree, he transferred to the University of Kentucky. He earned his Doctor of Dental Medicine Degree from the UK College of Dentistry. He started at the college in 1999 and currently serves on the College Council, Academic Council and Teaching/Learning Excellence Committee.

Andrew J. Borders III was promoted to Associate Professor of Sociology and Religion. A Proctorville, OH resident, he started at the college in 2007. He has a BA from Furman University, a Master of Divinity Degree from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary and a Master of Arts Degree from Marshall University. He serves on the KCTCS Senate, KCTCS Religious Studies Committee (Chair) and KCTCS Social Interaction Committee. He received a 2013 Teaching Learning Excellence Award.

Daniel Cooksey was promoted to Associate Professor of Criminal Justice. A Flatwoods resident, he is an Ashland native and Paul G. Blazer High School graduate. He has a Bachelors degree from Eastern University and a Master in Science Degree from Marshall University. After working in law enforcement in New Orleans for about 30 years, he returned to Ashland and started at ACTC in 2007. He serves on the KCTCS Criminal Justice Curriculum Committee and is a Faculty Advisor for ACTC Student Government.

Randolph Cullum, ED.S, was promoted to Associate Professor in Computer and Information Technology. A Huntington resident and native of Parkersburg, WV, he has a Bachelors Degree in Rehabilitation Education and a Masters Degree in Counseling, both from Marshall University. He earned an Educational Specialist Degree from Florida Institute of Technology. He started at the college in 2007 and serves on the Curriculum Review and Distance Learning Committees. He received a 2012-2013 Teaching Excellence Award.

Shannon McCarty was promoted to Associate Professor of Diesel Technology. An Ironton resident and area native, he graduated from Rock Hill High School and Collins Career Center in diesel technology. He received an Associate in Applied Science from ACTC and is an ASE Master Medium/ Heavy Truck Technician. Since starting at ACTC in 2007, he served on several college committees and received a First among Peers Teaching Learning Excellence Award.

Terri Lynn Ratliff, RN, BSN, was promoted to Assistant Professor in the Practical Nursing Program. A lifelong Russell resident, she graduated from Russell High School and Received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Nursing from Marshall University. She started at ACTC in 2010 and serves on the PN Advisory Committee and the ADN and PN selection committees. She is a Mentor in the Mentoring program and received Teaching Excellence Awards in 2011 and 2013. She hopes to begin the MSN Nurse Educator program at Western Kentucky University next spring.