Professor Kay Thompson Wins Gussler Award | ACTC

Professor Kay Thompson Wins Gussler Award

Alice Kay Thompson, Professor of Mathematics at ACTC, has received the prestigious Gussler Family Endowed Chair in Science and Mathematics Award. The award was announced at ACTCs Graduation Ceremony on May 11.

An Ashland area native and Russell resident, Professor Thompson started her college education at ACTC, known then as the UK Ashland Center. She then completed a BA in Education and an MA with an emphasis on Mathematics/Education at Morehead State University She earned a Rank I in Educational Administration at Marshall University.

After 30 years as a mathematics teacher in the Russell Independent School System, she taught Transitional Math area at Marshall University. She taught developmental mathematics part-time at ACTC before becoming a fulltime faculty member in 2000.

Students who have had her as a mathematics teacher comment on her enthusiasm; not just for mathematics, but for their success in mathematics. As one student put it, She will not leave you alone until you get it.

Thompson is listed in Whos Who among Outstanding Teachers and was selected to the Commonwealth Institute of Teachers. She is a member of Kentucky Association of Developmental Educators, National Association of Developmental Educators, and the Delta Kappa Gamma National Honor Society.

She received ACTCs Teaching Excellence Award in fall 2011 and was the colleges nominee for the National Institute for Staff and Organization Development 2011-12 Teaching Excellence Award. She has also co-authored two books designed to help mathematics teachers to align with the Ohio Content Standards.

The Gussler Award was established by Dr. C. Gordon Gussler and his wife Dixie Gussler in 2007 to recognize full-time math and science faculty who foster in their students a desire to learn and reach their maximum potential.

One recipient is selected annually, and each recipient receives a financial stipend, equal to two percent of the value of the endowment fund, for two years.

Recipients are nominated by students, fellow faculty or college staff. Award criteria include inspiring students to develop capabilities they did not realize they had, empowering students to succeed beyond their experiences, and instilling in students a love of learning.