Lt. Governor Visits Robotics Camp | ACTC

Lt. Governor Visits Robotics Camp

Kentuckys Lt. Governor Jerry E. Abramson visited Ashland Community and Technical College July 11 to talk with youth who were completing the colleges Robotic Arm Camp. He watched the final day of robotic competitions and helped present the awards.

Education after high school is important, he told the audience of parents and students. ACTC and the other Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) college canmake a difference in the lives of your children.

The Robotics Arm Camp was one of three free Career Craze camps offered by ACTC this summer through a partnership between the Lt. Governor's Office, KCTCS and ACTC Workforce Solutions.

The camps for students ages 9 to 15 were designed to highlight technology skills that are becoming increasingly important in todays world and to help youth understand how ACTC can help them prepare for high-paying technical career opportunities. Healthcare and Electronic Lab were the other Career Craze camps that focused on high-demand, high wage fields with a bright future.

We appreciate the opportunity to get kids involved in science and technology, said Janie Kitchen, ACTCs Dean of Academic Affairs. If we can encourage that interest now as they begin to think about the future, we may help them continue on into college in science career areas.

Most of the students in the morning Robotic Arm Camp also attended the afternoon Electronic Lab. Both Camps were held July 7 to 11.

Students from Ashland were Carter Abshire, Eric Billips, Jared King, Shelbi Owens, Jacob Salisbury, Andrew Sexton, Braden Spears, Corey Vander Galien and Austin Whitmore.

Other students from Kentucky were Boone Gibson from Argillite; Alex Boyle, Chandler Boyle, Paul Delaney and Ashton Dingess from Catlettsburg; Seth Bradley and Titus Hamm from Flatwoods; Curtis Bair from Grayson; and Andrew Schank and Samantha Schank from Louisville.

Ohio residents were Andrew Choutka from Chesapeake, Sydney Hixon and Max Schweickart from Ironton, Hunter Hocevar and Mik Lester from South Point and Ellen Heaberlin from Kitts Hill.