Kentucky Power Receives ACTC's Distinguished Service Award | ACTC

Kentucky Power Receives ACTC's Distinguished Service Award

Ashland Community and Technical College presented Kentucky Power with the 2015 Distinguished Service Award at the Graduation Ceremony on May 8. The award was given in recognition of the company's long history of providing the college with scholarships, financial and program support.

For many decades, the Kentucky Power has provided support for the colleges technical programs. They have provided curriculum advice and equipment to help technical programs stay on the leading edge of industry advancements and requirements. Their representatives have served on program advisory boards and helped secure grants for programs and support services.

In 2006, the company joined the college in securing an Appalachian Regional Commission Grant to develop Power Plant Operator and Linemen Technology options in the Applied Process Technologies Program. Those options were designed to prepare students for jobs in power generation plants and power line maintenance.

Kentucky Power has regularly helped the college with equipment donations that provide technical programs with industry standard equipment. Recent examples are a Big Sandy Plant donation of electrical control equipment to the Electrical Technology Program in 2013 and this years AEP donation of a bucket truck to the Lineman Program.

Over the years, the company has donated thousands of dollars for general scholarships and has supported the colleges greatest needs fund, theatre improvements, the Young Woman Lead program and a joint alternative energy project for sustainable energy.

Partnerships with the industries that employ our graduates benefit us all, said Dr. Kay Adkins, ACTC President and CEO. Kentucky Power has been a valuable partner in helping us provide education relevant to workforce needs and in helping our students prepare for the good jobs and careers of today and tomorrow.

Greg Pauley, President and Chief Operating Officer of Kentucky Power, accepted the award on behalf of AEP.