ACTC Recognizes Students at Honors Night | ACTC

ACTC Recognizes Students at Honors Night

The Ashland Community and Technical College Honors Night program May 9 recognized 105 students for their academic and service achievements in the 2012-2013 academic year. Some students received more than one award.

Recipients of the 2013 KCTCS All-Academic Team Awards were Michelle A. Gollihue from Grayson and Gregory T. McFarlin from Ashland.

The 2012-13 Student Government Association Awards were presented to President Austin Robinson from Ashland; Vice President Jennifer Stamper from Grayson, Secretary Heather Miller from Ashland, and Student Senate Member Hannah Caudill from Ashland.

The 2013 Commencement Speaker Recognition Award went to Cassandra Cantrell from Ashland.

American Chemical Society Student Recognition Awards went to Tony Arthur II, Ashland; Steven Gibbs, Raceland; Brandon Hamilton, Flatwoods; Brian McKnight, Ironton;Jarrod McKnight, Ironton; William Mullins, Ashland; Caleb Wheeler, Catlettsburg; and Brian Workman, Ashland.

Other awards are listed below with the recipients names and cities of residence.

Mathematics and Science Awards

Anatomy amp; Physiology Award: Billie Sergent, Ashland.

Applied Mathematics Award: Mike Michael, Huntington.

Applied Physics Award: Trevor Waugh, Argillite.

Basic Algebra Award: Janet Riggs, Ashland.

Bi-Term Math Award: Bridgette Harmon, Ashland.

Excellence in General Chemistry Award: Jeanette M. Pinkerman, Rush.

Excellence in Anatomy amp; Physiology Awards: Alexandra Cobern, Catlettsburg; Sarah Ison, Greenup; Tia Taylor, Greenup.

Excellence in Anatomy amp; Physiology Supplemental Instruction Awards: Steven Burch, Flatwoods; Ricky Owens, Ashland; Angie Sullivan, Ashland.

Excellence in BIO 118 Awards: Katie Hughes Ashland; Tiffany Pack, Grayson; Matthew Campbell, Kenova.

Excellence in BIO 225 Awards: Alexandra Cobern and Shelley Barnett, Ashland; Jessie Cook, Adams; Karen E. Ison, Greenup; Kayla Bellew, Grayson; Anthony Kaitis and Carisa White, Catlettsburg; Bo-Jaye Keene, Fort Gay; Travis Large, Raceland; Bethany Varney, Huntington; Ryan Williams, Chesapeake.

Excellence in Organic Chemistry Award: Kayla Simpson Dye, Flatwoods.

Outstanding Performance in General Chemistry Courses Award: Derek R. Spillman, Louisa.

Outstanding Performance in Three or More Organic Chemistry Courses Award: Chelsea D. Hale, South Shore.

Technical Algebra and Trigonometry Award: Nathaniel Bartram, Ashland.

Technical Mathematics Awards: Burchell Smith, Argillite; Gary Walker, South Point.

Transitional Math Award: Ashley Bailey, Ironton.

Academic/Organization Awards

Academic Excellence in Pharmacy Technology Awards: Andrew Braden, Flatwoods; Shanna Conn, Vanessa Dheel and Theresa Sullivan, Ashland; Kim May, Greenup; Samantha Rayburn, Olive Hill.

Outstanding H2P Student Award: Jodi Nichols, Worthington.

Library Service Award: Rachel E. McKenzie, Ashland.

Associate Degree Nursing Academic Award: Christine Webb, South Point;

Kentucky Association of Nursing Students Award: Tiffiney Carroll, Louisa;

Nursing Leadership Award: Annette Steele, Ashland.

Jennifer Carroll Award, a special award presented this year in memory of long-term ACTC faculty member and Health Science Division Chair Jennifer Carroll, Nanci E. Davis, Ashland.

Excellence in Leadership as a Peer Mentor: Elizabeth Conley, Bryant Jamison, Brandon Kelley, Terra McCarty and Heather Miller, all from Ashland; Amanda Clark, Flatwoods; Christy Lumpkins, Louisa; Jessica Lyons, Russell.

Chi Alpha Epsilon Honor Society Members: Stephanie Bowling, Lindsay Fowler, John Freeman John Fultz, Kelly Hanshaw, Nadine Maggard, Mary Ross and Jolene Williams, all from Ashland; Amanda Clark, Flatwoods; Misti Hendrick, Huntington; William E. Johnson, South Shore; Michael McNatt, Catlettsburg; Wister Nolan, Catlettsburg; Victoria Purinton, Rush; Delaya Short, Chesapeake; Adreine Worthington, Raceland.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Awards: Fellowship Hallmark Award to Jennifer Bailey, Grayson;

Scholarship Hallmark Awards to Fannie Cantrell, Louisa, and Vanessa King, Ashland; Service Hallmark Award to Angela Green, Ashland.

Supplemental Instruction Leader Awards: William Clark, Logan Evans, Angela Green, Clayton Gullett, Vanessa King, Heather Miller, Ricky Owens and Angela Sullivan, all from Ashland; Jennifer Bailey, Grayson; Steven Burch, Flatwoods; Whitney Bush, Catlettsburg; Alex Hogan,Treena Hogan, Christy Lumpkins and Jeremiah Maynard, all from Louisa; Eric Mohebbian, Wheelersburg; Joshua Qualls, Flatwoods.