ACTC Recognizes Employee Achievements | ACTC

ACTC Recognizes Employee Achievements

The fall All-College meeting on August 1 at Ashland Community and Technical College included recognitions of faculty and staff accomplishments in the 2012-2013 academic year.

ACTC Staff Awards

Ten ACTC staff employees have received excellence awards for the 2012-2013 academic year. The awards were presented at the All College Meeting on August 1.

The awards recognize staff who are innovative in supporting the colleges mission while supporting team approaches; who demonstrate interest in student welfare, achievement and learning; and who are actively involved in self -improvement.

The award winners were: Kim Boggs from Rush, Coordinator of Workforce Transitions; Sarah Diamond Burroway from Flatwoods, Director of Grants and Contracts; Linda Caines from Ashland, Student Affairs Assistant I amp; Admissions Specialist; Shirley McKinley from Worthington, Library Specialist; Kim Minnehan from Flatwoods, Manager of Advancement; Roxanne Neal from Ironton, Health Sciences Division Assistant; Diana Opell from Catlettsburg, Community Education Office Support Associate I; Kathy Riley from Ashland, Executive Administrative Assistant to the President; Frank Salisbury from Ashland, Director of Advancement; and Susan Thompson from Flatwoods, Library Specialist.

ACTC Faculty Awards

Outstanding faculty at Ashland Community and Technical College were recognized at the All College Meeting August 1.

Each semester, students and faculty nominate faculty for the annual Teaching Learning Excellence Awards. The awards are based on student ratings and evidence of learning presented by the faulty member. This year, 43 faculty members received the awards.

One faculty Teaching Learning Excellence Award recipient from each academic division was selected by the colleges Teaching and Learning Excellence Committee for a First among Peers Award.

First Among Peer Award recipients were: Warren Howard, Jr., Associate Professor of Education from Ashland, for the Education and Business Technology Division; Peggy Bradley, Professor of Culinary Arts from Grayson, for the Health Sciences Division; Jonathan Joy, Instructor of English from Huntington, for the Humanities Division; Shannon McCarty, Associate Professor of Diesel Technology from Ironton, for the Manufacturing Transportation and Industrial Technology Division; James Schmidt, Professor of Chemistry from Ashland, for the Math and Natural Sciences Division; and Kelly Hanni, Adjunct Professor from Hitchins, for Adjunct Faculty.

Warren Howard, Jr. was also selected by the Presidents Office for the First Among Firsts Teaching Learning Excellence Award. An Ashland native, he graduated from Paul G. Blazer High School. He has a Bachelors in English and a Masters in Education from Morehead State University and Language Arts Teaching Certification from Marshall University.

Since starting at ACTC in 1999, Howard has received numerous teaching excellence awards from the college and KCTCS System. As a recipient of the colleges highest Teaching Learning Excellence Award, he will represent ACTC at the annual NISOD conference next spring, the second time he has done so. Despite receiving awards, what I am most proud of is my students and the great things that they do, Howard said.