ACTC Awards Scholarships to High School Graduates | ACTC

ACTC Awards Scholarships to High School Graduates

Ashland Community and Technical College has awarded 85 scholarships to graduating high school students in the region.

These scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievement, potential for college success and financial need. The scholarships for the 2016-17 academic year total over $62,000 per semester and are provided by businesses, organizations and individuals to make college more accessible for area residents.

The recipients are listed below by high school.

From Boyd County High School: Payton R. Caldwell, Brandon A. Hobbs, Lakyn M. Miller, Joshua M. Whitt, Baylee M. Henderson and Brittany R. Mendez.

From Dawson-Bryant High School in Coal Grove, OH: Ashley M. Collins and Beth A. McKey.

From East Carter High School:AlexanderB. Adkins, Katelyn B. Collins, Darren C. Gifford, Christina L. Gillium and Nicholas A. Lucas.

From Elliot County High School: Chelsea N. Leadingham.

From Fairview High School: KaCee M. Bevins, Morgan N. Blair, Cheyenne S. Brown, Lynsdey M. Burke, Charles J. Caudill, Elizabeth G. Cook, Sierra N. Delong, Jennifer C. Duban-McGhee, Derek R. Elswick, Erin L. Evans, James Z. Figley, Sean D. Jenkins, Dacoda M. Johnson, Taylor B. Lucas, Stephanie M. Mayse ,Jasmine B. McCoy, Kelcie T. McPeek, Alexandria R. McSorley, Emily M. Meeks, Jessica M. Meeks, Samantha M. Reynolds, Joshua R. Russell, Breanna N. Smith, Cheyenne E. Thompson, Tatum S. Williams and Desiree M. Workman.

From Grace Christian School: Gabriel G. Johns.

From Greenup County High School: Tabitha L. Allen, Emily L. Angel, Alexis N. Arthur, Kennedy D. Ashley, Rebekah R. Bloomfield, Elizabeth S. Boggs, Trevor J. Duwve, Travis R. Hamm, Nicholas R. Harris, Jacob D. Hunt, , Leslie R . Lambert, Jessica K. Martin, Kelsey J. Miller, Savanna R. Potter, Elissa D. Virgin, Brett A. Wellman, Salynee E. Wolfe and Mason C. Scaggs.

From Lawrence County High School: Jennifer L. Cyrus, Amber N. Fitch, Nicholas M. Miller and Johnathan T. Smith.

From Paul Blazer High School: Cameron C. Akers, Jennah P. Baier, Joshua P. Bradley, Megan P. Evans, Annie P. Huff, Nicole P. Morgan, Josie P. Roberts and Allyson P. Sparks.

From Raceland-Worthington High School: Shannon D. Hephner, Emily D. Runyon, Alexis D. Scott and Ashton D. Sipps.

From Russell High School: Isabella J. Carpintero, Kathryn A. Looney, Alyssa R. Musser and Michael T. Sexton.

From Symmes Valley High School in Willow Wood, OH: Travis D. Gates.

From West Carter High School: Daniel B. Jones, Sarah A. Nichols, Kaitlyn M. P'Simer and James M. Stapleton.

Also receiving a scholarship was Austin B. Kirks, a home schooled student from Ashland.

Several of these students received scholarships that were established to support students entering specific fields.

Tabitha L. Allen from Greenup County High School and Allyson P. Sparks from Paul G. Blazer High School received Marathon Petroleum Kevin McClain Memorial Scholarships. They both plan to major in Applied Process Technologies (APT). The scholarship was established for students entering the APT programs, with preference given to minority or female students.

Dakota M. Johnson from Fairview High School received the Rodney Clark Memorial Scholarship. He plans to major in Diesel Technology. The scholarship was established for a FHS graduated enrolling in a technical program.

Baylee M. Henderson from Boyd County High School received the Ted and Bennie Shields Scholarship. She plans to major in Mathematics Education. The scholarship was established for Boyd County residents who have the potential for academic success and require financial assistance.

Darren A. Gifford from Grayson received a Pre-Engineering scholarship established by ACTC for students planning to transfer into Bachelor Degree programs in civil, chemical, mechanical and other engineering fields.

ACTC also awards scholarships to continuing and non-traditional students. For information on establishing student scholarships, contact Willie McCullough, Dean of Resource Development and External Affairs, email