ACTC Awards 2012-2013 Scholarships | ACTC

ACTC Awards 2012-2013 Scholarships

Ashland Community and Technical College recognized the 2012-13 scholarship recipients and donors at the annual Scholarship Reception on October 9.

The reception, held at the Highlands Museum and Discovery Center in Ashland, honored 147 students, some of whom received more than one scholarship, and more than thirty donors. A total of $243,000 in scholarships was awarded, according to Dr. Kay Adkins, ACTC President and CEO

I congratulate the students who have earned these scholarships, and I thank the donors who made the scholarships possible, Dr. Adkins said. For some students, these scholarships make the difference between going to college and not being able to go to college. Our donors, through their generosity, literally make dreams come true.

Scholarship Donors

Some of this years scholarships were established by organizations, including American Legion Clarence Fields Post 76, Fifth Third Bank, Kelley Galloway amp; Company PSC, Kentucky Power, Vicky Barouxis Jenkins P.E.O. Chapter AJ, Vanhoose/Big Sandy Foundation and YWCA.

Also awarded were scholarships established by area residents: Herb amp; Alene Boggs Alban, Lysbeth Barnett, Georgia Norris Blazer, Edward L. Buchanan, Allen D. and Patricia C. Cline, Mrs. Lou Eastham, Bob amp; Pat Goodpaster, Kaplan amp; Simons, Ruie Kennard Kelley, N. O. Kimbler, Anne Kouns, Agnes Burnette Johnson, Joseph amp; Sylvia Mansbach, David N. Michalak, Jenny Rickman, Lincoln amp; Katherine Morgan Scott, Barbara Seibert, Theodore C. and Bennie J. Shields, Troy B. and Sophia Wheeler, and Goldie Wilson.

My parents believed in the value of education, and they wanted to help others with college the same way that they had been helped, said Carol Kelley, daughter of Harold and Ruie Kelley. My father established the scholarship fund many years ago, and I am pleased that it continues to provide financial support to ACTC students seeking a better life.

State-wide scholarships awarded this fall were the John T. Smith, KCTCS Commonwealth, KCTCS President's, Kentucky Colonels and KCTCS Workforce Development scholarships. ACTC institutional scholarships included the Partners in Progress, Pre-Engineering, Talent Grant and Vending scholarships.

For information on establishing ACTC scholarships through the Community and Technical College Foundation of Ashland, Inc., ACTCs fund-raising arm, contact Frank Salisbury, ACTC Director of Advancement.

Scholarship Recipients

ACTC scholarships are awarded on the basis of financial need and/or the potential for academic success, as well as other criteria developed by scholarship donors. The reception honored recipients who received scholarships from local and state funds that have selection processes which are administered by the college.

Although scholarship recipients come from diverse backgrounds and have a variety of career goals, they share an aspiration for a better life. They also share an appreciation for the scholarships that will help them achieve their college goals.

Im thankful for this scholarship, said Sarah Robbins, a Catlettsburg resident and 2012 Boyd County High School graduate who plans to go into Elementary Education. It will help me complete a degree at ACTC that I can transfer to the University of Kentucky.

She received a Commonwealth of Kentucky Scholarship which is awarded to recent high school graduates who were valedictorians, salutatorians or in the top 10% of their graduating class.

It makes you feel good to be recognized for your academic efforts, said Michael R. McNatt, a Catlettsburg resident in the Computers and Information Technology Program. The scholarship will take some of the financial burden of going back to school.

McNatt decided to change fields after working for several years in the construction industry. My brother was successful in his business but always regretted not going to college. I didnt want to have those same regrets, and I thought this was the chance to get into a field I will really enjoy. He plans to transfer into a university computer program with the goal of becoming a video game designer.

Recipients are listed below by city of residence.

From Ashland: Cydney V. Baker, Levi M. Blevins, Stephanie M. Bowling, Kyra M. Butler, Joseph A. Caldwell, Ethan W. Cantrell, Rachel N. Carrico, Heather A. Castle, Jeffrey A. Chambers, Sammantha N. Chapman, Jimmy R. Cofield, Trina D. Cole, Cheromi J. Daniels, Tyler A. Delawder, Lydia M. Dixon, Logan J. Evans, Angela L. Farley, Lindsay M. Fowler, Aaron S. Gehringer, and Angela D. Green.

Also from Ashland: Christinia S. Hall, Shyanne A. Hush, Tamela D. Jones, Brandon L. Kelley, Vanessa L. King, Maryrayne E. Lebrun, Tiesha R. Littleton, Jonathan T. Lowe, Kyle M. Lowe, Patricia M. Lyon, Tara E. McCarty, John D. McDowell, Michael R. McNatt, Ashlen McNurlin, Shalyn B. Miller, Raymond L. Moore, Taylor R. Neal, Phillip E. Newman, Rachel M. Oney and Crystal A. Parsley.

Also from Ashland: Kaylee D. Poe, Shelby R. Renfroe, Austin T. Robinson, Mary K. Ross, Kayla N. Rowe, Michael A. Seagraves, Jackee L. Short, Justin M. Sinclair, David R. Smith, Nathan A. Smith, Billie J. Stanley, Patrick M. Stump, Jason M. Sturgeon, Shawn A. Tarr, Haley R. Templeton, Donna M. Vargas, Alexander C. Vice, Zachory R. Wible, Bradley A. Wilburn, Joseph E. Wondolowski.

From Catlettsburg: Erica N. Bailey, Aaron C. Blevins, Megan L. Blevins, Alexandra M. Cobern, Terri R. Cornwell, Alexandra T. Day, Allison L. Fannin, Jarrod M. Hall, Joseph D. Hawkey, Adam L. Holley, Zachary C. Humphrey, Shelbey E. Jacobs, Ivy M. Legg, Alexandria N. Marshall, Mark A. McClanahan, Kellie N. McClelland, Kayla B. McDavid, Chelsea M. Morris, Michael D. Reed, Sarah A. Robbins, Lexa M. Rucker, Savannah D. Scott, James C. Stergeon and Lyndsey M. Thovson.

From Flatwoods: Erica M. Browning, Gretchen E. Conley, Hope L. Crooks, Jordan P. Hamilton, Anna B. Jones, Elizabeth L. Miller and Talisha L Smith.

From Grayson : Michelle N. Bilich, Blake A. Boggs, Tyler J. Clay, Emily G. Felty, Amanda B. Sizemore, Judy K. Stapleton, Talia A. Stephens and Timothy B. Tolliver.

From Greenup: Tiffany N. Blanton, Kala N. Brown, Christopher D. Furst, Dustin K. Gullett, Zachary T. Haney, Steven T. Hunt, Andrew W. Imel and Christopher M. Nichols.

From Louisa: Brittany L. Bellomy, Elizabeth M. Bowens, Brittany N. Hall, Lena S. Ison, Raven L. Jude, Emily M. Leibee, Kerry A. Meredith, Megan M. Patrick and Wade T. Skaggs.

From Olive Hill: Malynda B. Barker, Samantha L. Carey, Jacklyn E. Parker, Paige N. Puckett, Kayla D. Stallard and Michelle L. Stevens.

From Raceland: Leighanna M. Caudill-Lane, Autumn B. Fitch and Holly M. Quillen.

From Rush: Kaitlin A. Brown, Amber N. Deerfield, Erica D. Hays, Marissia D. Salyers, Jessica A. Smith and Alisa D. Thompson.

From South Shore: Chelsea D. Hale and Holly A. Rhoden.

Also from Kentucky: Chelsey L. Hall, Argillite; Stacy L. Clark, South Portsmouth; Halie B. Nichols, Worthington; Janice L. Rice, Denton; Lydia D. Sparks, Webville; Teresa L. Stewart, Garrison; and Jeremy R. Williams, Wurtland.

From Ohio: William S. Bordelon and Matthew A. White, Ironton; Zachary A. Bowen and Bethany C. Purdee, South Point, Justin T. Bustetter, Kitts Hill; and Ryan J. Williams, Chesapeake;

From Fort Gay, WV: Rose M. Roberts.