ACTC Awards 156 Fall 2014 Scholarships | ACTC

ACTC Awards 156 Fall 2014 Scholarships

Ashland Community and Technical College awarded 158 scholarships this fall, with a value of $116,000 per semester, according to Dr. Kay Adkins, ACTC President and CEO.

Scholarships are a valuable financial resource for our students and can sometimes mean the difference between going to college and not being able to go to college, said Dr. Adkins. At ACTC, about 80% of our students receive some sort of financial aid, and scholarships are part of the financial aid package.

I congratulate the students who have earned these scholarships, and I thank the donors who made the scholarships possible, Dr. Adkins said.

ACTC scholarships are awarded on the basis of financial need and/or the potential for academic success, as well as other criteria developed by scholarship donors.

Although scholarship recipients come from diverse backgrounds and have a variety of career goals, they share an aspiration for a better life. They also share an appreciation for the scholarships that will help them achieve their college goals.

Thanks to scholarship, I can attend ACTC without loans, said Rebecca Sorrell, an Ashland resident and May 2014 Boyd County High School graduate. She received the Theodore amp; Bennie Shields Scholarship and that along with her KEES money is paying her college expenses.

I knew I was going to college because my mother came here and graduated from the Nursing Program, Sorrell said. She started at ACTC because I want to finish my education now before other things in life get in the way. She wants to get an Associate in Science degree at ACTC and transfer to Morehead State University with the goal of becoming a physicians assistant or pharmacist.

Its always an honor to receive a scholarship, and it means less of a financial burden for college, said Cameron Scott Mills, a Flatwoods resident who is going to college more than a decade after high school. He spent time in the Army and in several jobs until he decided it was time for a new career. He received a Canteen Scholarship.

Mills would like to complete the Associate Degree Nursing program and go on to become a nurse practitioner or nurse educator.

Scholarship Recipients

Scholarship winners are listed below by city of residence.

From Argillite: Derrick Baldridge and Shane W. Day.

From Ashland: Kara N. Adkins, Elizabeth J. Allen, Faith A. Boyd, Johnathan Burke, Cain Cooksey, Hannah Cooksey, Zachary Crawford, Morgan L. Day, Tyler Delawder, Lydia Dixon, Emmalynn Edmonds, Brandi L. Elswick, Sherry Everhart, Jazlyn Farrow, Justin T. Freeman, Tobias D. Gedenk, Aaron Gehringer, Candy Goldie, Cody R. Gollihue, Christopher Hall, Jessica K. Ison, John Jeffers, Levi Kouns, Phillip Layne, Jordan N. Litteral, Kara Litteral, Kyle Lowe, Andrew Maunger, Sammuel McConnell, Emily Meeks, Levi D. Parnell, Benjamin Pooler, Mary Pooler, James Price, Mika R. Price, Joanne Rice, Janet Riggs, Katie Ritchie, Allison Roark, Alana Ryan, Vanessa D. Shamblin, Heather Slone, Carissa H. Smith, Rebecca K. Sorrell, Madison B. Sparks, Zack Suttles, Kelly R. Vance, Brandon N. Webb, Keri Wheeler, Kayla M. Whetsel, Cameron G. Whitlock, Cameron Whitlock, Bradley Wilburn, Kelcie J. Williams, Victoria H. Workman and Patricia Wright.

From Catlettsburg: Jessica Adams, Brayden Brumfield, Whitney Bush, Kelcie Chaney, Taylor B. Cornwell, Samuel J. Daniel, Joshua P. Day, Shelbey Jacobs, Courtney D. McCarty, Erin P. Moore, Courtney Stewart and Shelby Young.

From Flatwoods; Madison Bramblette, Nicholas Dawson, Cameron Geobel, Brittany N. Hales, Travis Hamilton, Haley M. Keen, Emily Liebee, Cameron Mills, Eric W. Pugh, Zachary J. Rice, Arieal R. Russell, Talsiha Smith, Edy L. Thomas, Megan S. Thomas and Jonathan Wessel.

From Garrison: Nathan Bloomfield, Cody M. Howard and Teresa Stewart.

From Grayson: David Bailey, George Baker, Leah Cordle, Ashley Godfrey, Tyler A. Griffith, Logan A. Hargraves, Amy E. Harlow, Lynn Houck, MarKauetta Kitchen, Jennifer McGlone and Brooklyn P. Sloas.

From Greenup: Kenton W. Boggs, Joyce Burnett, Drew G. Darby, Katelyn Farr, McKenzie Gerber,

Megan L. Howard, Trenton Howard, Brittany N. Jenkins, Jordan T. Madden, Christopher Nichols, Katelyn B. Potter and Justin R. Royster.

From Louisa: Elizabeth Bowens, Ethan Cantrell, Adam M. Cavins, Olivia D. Cremeans, William Diamond, Ashley Fletcher, Lena Ison, Kara Kirk, Christy Lumpkins, Grover Parsley, Shelby Preston, James Shannon and Tiffany N. Triplett.

From Morehead: Misty Irvin and Joey McCleese.

From Olive Hill: Malynda Barker, Joshua Flannery and Destiny K. Lewis.

From Raceland: Timothy R. Millhouse, Autumn Roberts, David A. Salyers and Caleb Spainhower.

From Rush: Olivia F. Hays and John D. Skinner.

From Sandy Hook: Ashley Adkins and Banasha Miller.

From South Shore: Nathanial G. Bray, Dana N. Curtis, Randall W. Hall, Christina McDaniel and Jeffrey A. Williams.

Also from KY: Austin Ellis, Webbville; Rebecca Hall, Hitchins; Jacob S. Holbrook, Worthington; Blake M. Justice, Russell; Lisa Sparks, Owingsville; Laura G. Stevens, Emerson; and Joshua Williams, Wurtland.

From Ohio: Clara L. Cole, Coal Grove; Joshua Hayes, Franklin Furnace; and Ironton: Ashley K. Collins, Shelby Dickess and Joshua Glover from Ironton.

From West Virginia: Cera R. Holland, Huntington; and Donna Wilson, Fort Gay. Also Kyle Groce from Clarksville, TN.

Scholarship Donors

ACTC scholarships established by area organizations include the American Legion Post 76, Big Sandy Superstore, Fifth-Third Bank, Fyffe Jones Group, Galloway Trust, PEO Chapter AJ and YWCA. Marathon Petroleum established the Kevin McClain Memorial Scholarship last spring.

Scholarships established by area residents include the Gregory D. Adkins, Herb amp; Alene Boggs Alban, Lysbeth Barnett, Maude Belle Brown, Edward L. Buchanan, Lou Eastham, Bob and Pat Goodpaster, Robert B. Hilton, Kaplan amp; Simons, Ruie Kennard Kelley, Agnes Burnette Johnson, Joseph amp; Sylvia Mansbach, David N. Michalak, Lincoln amp; Katherine Morgan Scott, Theodore C. amp; Bennie J. Shields, Barbara Siebert, Spriggs Family, Troy B. and Sophia Wheeler, and Goldie Wilson endowment funds.

State-wide scholarships came from the John T. Smith, KCTCS Commonwealth, KCTCS President's, Kentucky Workforce, Kentucky Colonel Better Life endowments. ACTC institutional scholarships included the Scholarship and Talent Grant Endowment, Partners in Progress, Pre-Engineering and Canteen scholarships.

For information on establishing ACTC scholarships, contact Willie McCullough, Dean of Resource Development and External Affairs, email: willie.mccullough