Ashland Community and Technical College is a top producer of Fulbright U.S. Scholars | ACTC

Ashland Community and Technical College is a top producer of Fulbright U.S. Scholars

Published on Feb 13, 2024

fulbright-scholarToday, the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs recognized Ashland Community and Technical College for being one of the colleges and universities with the highest number of faculty and administrators selected for the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program. Fulbright Top Producing Institutions like ACTC value global connection and support members of their campus communities to pursue international opportunities.

Dr. Aschalew Mengistu from ACTC was selected for Fulbright awards for academic year 2023-24. 

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government's flagship international academic exchange program. Since 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided over 400,000 talented and accomplished students, scholars, teachers, artists, and professionals of all backgrounds with the opportunity to study, teach, and conduct research abroad. Fulbrighters exchange ideas, build people-to-people connections, and work to address complex global challenges. 

“The benefits of having a Fulbright Scholar at ACTC are immense,” said ACTC President and CEO, Dr. Larry Ferguson. “The experiences that the scholars bring back to our campuses are invaluable. It enhances their effectiveness as a teaching academic and improves the learning experiences of our students.”

Fulbright Scholar for 2023-24, Dr. Mengistu, is currently in Ethiopia conducting research on enteroviruses, a group of viruses causing several mind infectious illnesses and can cause serious illnesses if infecting the central nervous system.

ACTC faculty are eligible for sabbatical leave after six years of continuous service with KCTCS and/or antecedent organizations for leaves of absence under a different option after three years of continuous service. The purpose of sabbatical leaves is to provide opportunities for study, research, creative effort, improvement of teaching capabilities and methods and related travel in order that the quality of each recipient’s service to the KCTCS students may be enhanced. 

“Fulbright’s Top Producing Institutions represent the diversity of America’s higher education community. Dedicated administrators support students and scholars at these institutions to fulfill their potential and rise to address tomorrow’s global challenges. We congratulate them, and all the Fulbrighters who are making an impact the world over,” said Lee Satterfield, Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs. 

Fulbright is a program of the U.S. Department of State, with funding provided by the U.S. Government. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations, and foundations around the world also provide direct and indirect support to the Program. 

Fulbright alumni work to make a positive impact on their communities, sectors, and the world and have included 41 heads of state or government, 62 Nobel Laureates, 89 Pulitzer Prize winners, 80 MacArthur Fellows, and countless leaders and changemakers who build mutual understanding between the people of the United State and the people of other countries.  

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit