ACTC’s Five Star Chapter Phi Theta Kappa set to induct new members shortly after bringing home new awards | ACTC

ACTC’s Five Star Chapter Phi Theta Kappa set to induct new members shortly after bringing home new awards

Published on Apr 16, 2024

Ashland Community and Technical College’s Phi Theta Kappa was recently recognized as a Five Star Chapter at the annual Catalyst Awards in Orlando, Florida. 

The Five Star Chapter Plan engages chapters in Phi Theta Kappa programs and celebrates their accomplishments.  It outlines essential activities to create an engaged chapter and maximum opportunities for chapter officers and members to reap all of the benefits offered in membership, including research projects, field trips, conferences, service learning, and awards ceremonies.  

Chapters have an approximate one-year time frame to complete activities and projects to contribute to the 5-star rating, including a College Project, Honors in Action research project, participation in regional events such as PTK 101, and completion of PTK Edge professional development courses.

Dr. Todd Brand received the Distinguished Administrator award, which recognizes college administrators working directly with student leaders to solve problems on campus and in their communities. 

Dr. Cindy Shelton received the Distinguished Advisor award, which recognizes advisors who have at least four years of service in Phi Theta Kappa and demonstrate an exceptional atmosphere of teamwork, leadership abilities and enthusiasm. Award-winners have made significant contributions to the growth of the individual members, serve as the chapter’s advocate on campus, and encourage the chapter to be involved on the local, regional, and/or international levels of the organization. 

The chapter continues to live up to its Five Star recognition this spring as they are set to induct 33 new students on April 19 at the College Drive Campus in Ashland, KY. 

The Fall 23/Spring 24 Inductees are as follows:

Victoria Adkins, Christopher Bartley, Anna Brown, Regina Brown, Kate Bryant, Katelyn Bryant, Eric Byrd, Joshua Clark, Louie Cumpton, John Daniels II, Belinda Dingess, Carly Ferguson, Angela Hinkle, Lisa Honaker, Autumn Hunt, Misty Hutchinson, Alexander McEachern, Maranda Morin, Shawna Ratliff, Rebecca Reffitt, Destiny Salyers, Tammy Salyers, David Snyder, Amber Sparks, Keyleigh Stanley, Laynee Stanley, Irene Stepp, Sheila Stewart, Preston Terry, Eduardo Torres, Lauren Wellman, Megan Wilburn, and Raven Workman.