ACTC, NAACP recognizes seniors | ACTC

ACTC, NAACP recognizes seniors

April 28, 2021

ASHLAND, Ky. – The Boyd and Greenup Counties Branch of the NAACP and Ashland Community and Technical College (ACTC) recognized 46 students virtually at the 27th Annual Underrepresented Minority Senior Salute on April 23.

Seniors from Paul Blazer, Boyd County, Greenup County, Fairview, Raceland and Russell high schools were honored for their academic achievement as well as given resources about continuing their education.

ACTC, Marshall University, Shawnee State University, Ohio University Southern, Morehead State University and Mountwest Community and Technical College, as well as representatives of the Armed Forces participated in a college fair. Students had the opportunity to learn how to apply for admission or get general information about the schools/branches of the military.

Keynote speaker was Lexington native, Jerald Henry Smith. Smith is the owner, operator, and founder of two businesses, S.T.E.A.M Education Company & Nice Cream Company. Jerald is an active member of 100 Black Men of America, Inc., The American Chemical Society, and Bridge Kids International.

Students who were honored were:

Paul Blazer High School: Hunter Bond, Chrissyaunna Brown, Jacob Carter, Hope Diaz, Aidan Dorsey, Nikiah Dougans, Noble Eleazu, Callie Jackson, Casey Jackson, Abigail Jagielo, Carson Johnson, Katerine Lucas, Cholet Mervilus, TeDerri Olds Flowers, Nakyan Pankey, Jordan Rakes, Kenzi Robinson, Hasaana Sagraves, Timothy Sexton, Thankakvath Sonim, Ronin Jackson Clayton Dimick Sparks, Rylee Spencer, Terri Wallenfelsz and India Washington

Boyd County High School: Kanae Jackson, Hayden Leone, Emma McCarty, Dustin Middleton, Diontah Mitchell, Rylee Prichard, Damian Rice, Emily Ross and Jayden Shumway

Fairview High School: Jada Ward

Greenup County High School: Ramone Hall, Lucia Mason, Michelle Locklear, Lee Jamison Ruffner, Joseph Troxler, Raye Coleman, Ari Ellis-Smith and Ryanne Robinson

Raceland-Worthington High School: Maikki Chambers

Russell High School: Alana Burnside, Elijah Byrd, Marissa Guzman and Donavan Moore